The inner workings of a crazy, scratch that, opinionated Jumper Girl


Time to share a little about myself (JG) with all of you!  DE did a mini bio way back, now it’s my turn.

I’m (obviously) the procrastinator of the two of us!  I’m also the dork/geek/nerd.  When I was a kid, I used to get in trouble at school for reading too much.  I still find myself easily distracted by new information.  I read veterinary manuals and papers on genetics for fun; my contribution to posts is mostly the technical details and what you see is typically an abbreviated version.  DE will often have to point out that we don’t really need a run down on the basics of genetics and exactly how the different color genes affect one another and why the gene that codes for black hair is labelled E, just to run a post about perlinos.  But to me, it’s all just so damn interesting!

When I was a kid, my parents got me a 6 lesson Intro to Riding package for Christmas one year.  They honestly thought I would take the 6 lessons, know how to ride and that would be that!  That was over 15 years ago and I’m still taking lessons and have so much more to learn.

Over the years, I’ve dabbled in many disciplines.  I call myself Jumper Girl, ’cause I’m the adreneline junkie.  I still do the dressage and flatwork and even enjoy it, especially when we have some sort of breakthrough, but it’s not where my heart lies.  Deep down, I love jumps and cross-country courses and galloping through trails and big, fast horses!  (Side note: I’m not particularily tall, but I always seem to wind up on the overgrown horses.  Not sure why.)  My personal horse is a tall, older (kinda fugly) TB gelding, that I got off the track many, many moons ago.  We don’t go quite as fast as we used to, but we still have fun!ps.  She (JG) is also the artist! 😉

About snarkyrider

We're snarktastic

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Misc Horsies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice to ‘meet’ you. I’m still laughing that your parents thought six riding lessons would be the end of horse obsession. Yeah right! I’m not sure how much personal info you want to put online, but I’d love to read a couple of posts introducing your horses, too.

  2. I just found your blog the other day and I am now reading back through all your posts and they are great you guys say all the things I think. I also want to add that I too got in trouble for reading too much in school, and enjoy studying how the genetics involved in color etc. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

