Flashy Welsh Pony? We think you mean Flashy Welsh Baby!


First of all, before we really get in to this ad, we’d like to know how old you think this horse is?

Yup, you guessed it (and if you read the alt text, you may have cleverly inferred it!): this horse is 2 years old.

Flashy Welsh Pony $3,500

She was backed this spring and can walk, trot, canter. She lunges and free lunges perfectly. She also will trot and canter over ground poles. She has been taken over crossrails but only a few times to ensure soundness for the future.
She has been taken to competitions involving swinging pool noodles and tarps. She has even walked up and down our porch steps. Fancy stays cool and calm in any situation. She is bomb proof!

Fancy is a super smart girl picking up any lesson quickly and accurately. Fancy will mature to 13.1hh. Fancy’s confirmation is flawless and she just has a certain spark in her eyes that tells you she is special.

I’m sorry, will mature to 13.1hh?  So she’s less than that now?!  And you’re riding her?!  But won’t jump her to “ensure soundness for the future”.  Holy wackadoodle.

We don’t care if your pony is the superhero known as “The Flash” incarnate, you’re too damned big for it and it’s too young to be carrying you!

Don’t believe us?  Think we’re being too judgmental?

Thank you to the concerned reader who sent us this ad from equine.com.

Some ways to tell you’re too big for a horse:

  • If you can lift your leg over the pony’s back without the use of a mounting block or stirrups
  • If your walking stride is longer than the ponies’ trot (or canter) stride
  • Your knees are inches past the knee roll of the saddle because you’ve jacked your stirrups that much so your toes don’t hang past its knees
  • IF IT’S TWO YEARS OLD AND GOING TO MATURE TO 13.1HH!

By the way, “confirmation” – really?  As if it wasn’t enough to torture the poor pony, you have to torture us as well?

About snarkyrider

We're snarktastic

Posted on December 13, 2011, in Bad Horse Ads, Bad Riders, Conformation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. UGH… I actually though she’d be younger, because she looks so damn small… Then, again, they probably started riding the fuck out of her before she could grow any more!!!

    “Fancy stays cool and calm in any situation” NO… she can’t dump your ass because you’re too damn big for her!

  2. OH MY GOD!!!! OH MY GOD!!!! I think that baby should be riding her. Jeez Louise!

  3. Ponies are often able to carry a lot more proportional weight than horses…I zip around on my trainer’s 13.3 Paint all the time (I’m 5’4 and somewhere between 140-145 lbs).

    But Gwenie is A. Not two, B. Two inches taller than that pony and C. Lugs me around with a big smile on her face.

    Here:

    (Excuse lousy picture quality…the lighting in our indoor is terrible ;))

    Makes me wonder if the person heard that and thought ‘Oh, she’s a pony, she’ll be fine…)

    Somebody upgrade that pony…she’s a saint and with two years turned away to rest and grow she’ll make somebody a nice little riding (or possibly driving) pony.

    • Absolutely – ponies are hearty little dudes, some breeds more than others. It’s hard to tell from the angle, but it looks like you’re riding with appropriately long stirrups – already way ahead of the ladies featured in this post!

      • I generally do dressage, so tend to ride with longer stirrups. We were actually messing around and gaming in that shot. Pony’s breed is unknown, but our guess is that she is a Paint x Connemara…she can jump like a little stag!

  4. Poor baby! That picture of a gigantic human on her back looks like a cartoon!

  5. I think there was some “gold” left in the ad.

    “We will begin taking her to hunter shows this fall.”

    To do WHAT?! Don’t tell me you’re competing her in hunter breeding. I’m pretty sure you’re not.

    It also bothers me when they make a huge deal about her grandsire being “a FEI pony.” He competed at Third Level. While I suppose you are TECHNICALLY correct, this pony is no North Forks Cardi. Don’t make him out that way.

    I think I’m a little sensitive because Facebook has enabled me to watch my former eventing trainer get a head start on ruining a three year old. She started him in August (okay, he’s three, that’s acceptable).

    Four weeks later, she was jumping him. He’s now apparently coursing 2’9″ and ready to go First Level dressage. He’s THREE. He’s been under saddle for FOUR months. Everything about the situation just screams to me that he was pushed along very quickly — which seems to be common in all showing disciplines, like this poor girl.

  6. I’d like to beat that lady over the head with the common sense stick. How could she really think that first riding picture would help sell that pony? Poor little overburdened baby… I don’t have a problem with *lightly* riding 2 year olds, but no way a pony that small should be packing around an adult. All that strain on her back/hocks.. 😦

    • Agreed. While her movement in the pasture photos don’t IMPRESS me, she looks cute. As in, if she has a nice temperament and jump, she could eventually make a cute kid’s pony. Her movement in the riding photos looks (to me, bad) very restricted, probably because she’s being forced to pack around an adult when she’s a baby. The riding photos are not flattering at all.

  7. The really sad thing is that this pony looks adorable. She has a sweet face and looks like she’s probably a really cute mover. She probably could be a great little show pony…when she’s matured. I’ve seen ponies ruined like this. When I was a kid we were looking to buy a large pony. And we found one. His name was Donnie, and he was fabulous. Sweet, smart, friendly, and fancy as all get out. Flashy mover and super scopey jumper. But, he was 4. We vetted him. The vet found arthritis in his stifles. AT FOUR. Damn shame. Would have loved to have owned that pony.

    • At 4?? DAMN! Now that’s sad…

      • Really sad. I don’t think he was the only one at the barn either. They had another pony that we didn’t even look at because at 5 he was already having his hocks injected.

        If a 4 year old has arthritis and a 5 year old needs hock injections, then something is SERIOUSLY wrong with the way you’re starting and training them. The jumper I bought years later wasn’t started under saddle until 4 or 5 and didn’t start over fences until he was 6. He just turned 13 this summer and is still as sound and solid as a rock for the people who bought him from me a couple of years ago.

  8. I looked at the first photo and actually thought yearling. Sad, very sad.

  9. I am the one that sent the ad in, I was looking at some ads fairly locally and had to triple look at this. To say I was astounded is an understatement. Yes, I have ridden small ponies and looked ridiculous, but they were also around 7-10 years old and were gaming ponies. This is a cute pony that needs a serious upgrade and time to just chill before they push her over fences and scare the beejesus out of her causing a sour horse..it is so sad

  10. (I had a gut feeling that said starting EARLY two year hunter ponies is a common practice — the IHF have futurities for two year olds, albeit horses, doesn’t help — so I looked up more pony ads.)

    I’m a two year old, please ride me!

  11. I did think you were being a bit harsh (because I hadn’t seen who was riding the poor thing), but now that I’ve seen the pictures, I agree completely.

    I got a 4 year old welsh pony out of the kill pens – she was 13.2hh. I broke her out BUT she was 4, I only weigh 45kg’s and she could carry me with ease. Plus, while I’m not short, I didn’t look ridiculous riding her.

    The reason they call her ‘bombproof’, is probably because she can’t play up while carrying all that weight. Too bad though, she looks like a nice pony!

  12. I thought younger too: maybe 12-18 months at the most. Poor baby. Wish I could adopt her and make her a driver–after two to three years of groundwork and growth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

