Help for the Louisiana Horses


One of our readers notified us of a horrific abuse case in Louisiana.  Since then we can’t seem to get it out of our minds.  It involves upwards of 60 horses – a disturbing percentage of which were found dead on the property when the local humane association and two rescues went in to seize the horses on January 6th.

We’ve previously posted about holding Olympians and other “role models” to higher standards, but what about industry professionals?  We pick on the backyard breeder who isn’t doing anything to help the industry but all of a sudden their indiscretions seem to pale in comparison to this case.

An estimated 25 equine carcasses was found on the O’l Home Place LLC farm in Many, Louisiana.  The owner of the farm, Charles Ford, is a Thoroughbred breeder and trainer.  Now, we may not be in the racing world, but it seems to us that any horse is bound to run better when they’re, you know, fed.  Doesn’t it make sense that a horse who’s body is literally eating away at itself would run slower than a fit, well cared for horse?

How can we belittle backyard breeders when professionals pull shit like this?  These people, who are experienced and employ professional trainers (like William R. Young in this instance) and are just generally supposed to know better – shouldn’t they be held to a higher standard?  And even if it’s a money thing, at some point – maybe when he was stepping over the carcasses of  one horse or maybe when he was piling the third dead horse on top of the fucking pile – we don’t know, but don’t you think Charles Ford should have thought to himself “hey, I can’t feed these guys, maybe I should try to get some help.”

For more information head on over to the Fugly Horse of the Day blog where we’ve done a more in depth post.  Or, if you’d like to help out the rescues involved check out Louisiana Horse Rescue Association and Rescue Me Racehorse Rescue.

About snarkyrider

We're snarktastic

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Featured Rescues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. A REAL professional wouldn’t do what he did.

  2. This is just sad. I don’t even have to energy to rant about another story of horses being allowed to starve by the dozens….

  3. By far the most important factor in a good race horse is a good diet. A crappy trainer that feeds their horses a good consistent diet will do better than the talented trainer that underfeeds. Simple as that. It’s so damn simple that it baffles my mind why people with race horses underfeed. In the end, you will make more money in the long run by spending the money on proper feed than you will by skimping: I dare say 100% of the time.

  4. The beautiful thing about the race track is if he had made his situation known and asked for help, even people that hated his guts would have helped him out. I’ll bet he even had people offer to help him out and rejected it.

    There’s never ever any excuse for this, but all this guy had to do was say he needed help and he would have had it.

  5. PLEASE CROSS POST IF YOU CAN….

    I received an email from an old client and since it deals with several arabs, 2 cross bred, and a TB, I thought perhaps folks could contact the owner.

    I can go out and get pics, I can help arrange for health certs, and coggins, as well as being there to help load for shipping if needed.

    Here is the information I got. This is what was on my email, I am not related to these people and do not know the horses personally.

    This is from a co-worker of mine – his brother-n-law is the owner of the horses so this is legit – I just thought I’d send this on maybe somone knows someone that could help out???

    Hello,

    I appologize for such a large mass mailing but I am reaching out to my friends and colleagues who may be interested themselves or may have connections to someone who may be willing to help out my family. I am trying to put the word out to anyone who may be willing and able to add one or more horses to their family. My brother has several horses and is unable to properly care for them. He said if they are not able to find a new home for them asap, they will have to have them put down so they don’t suffer and starve. My brother, Terry, is a fireman and works very hard. He had an unfortunate accident in the Summer of 2010 where he indured a life threatening brain injury. He has made a miracalus recovery and is back to work, but his finances have suffered greatly. I’m sure he is probably feeding his horses before himself, but there is really nothing more he can do. I understand the economic times are hard all around and it is expensive to care for a horse, but if you or anyone you know has room to add one or more of these beautiful creatures you would be saving their life. I told Terry I would do what I can to get the word out. Here is a list of the horses he has.

    Age

    Breed

    Sex

    Trained

    3 yrs

    50/50 Arabian, Checkner

    Male

    No Training

    2-6yrs

    Arabian – Black

    Male

    Halter Broke

    2-6yrs

    Arabian

    Male

    Halter Broke

    2-6yrs

    Arabian

    Male

    Halter Broke

    2-6yrs

    Arabian

    Male

    Halter Broke

    14-15yrs

    Thouroughbred

    Female

    Trained

    9m

    Saddlebred/Arabian

    Male

    Halter Broke

    3-10yrs

    Arabian

    Female

    Broke

    3-10yrs

    Arabian

    Female

    Broke

    3-10yrs

    Arabian

    Female

    Broke

    3-10yrs

    Arabian

    Female

    Broke

    3-10yrs

    Arabian

    Female

    Broke

    3-10yrs

    Arabian

    Female

    Broke

    My brother’s contact info:

    His name is Terry Condon, cell phone number is 608-434-7508 and work number is 608-245-4561. He lives in Loganville. It is about an hour drive. Please let me know of any interest or if you have questions about the horses etc. and I will help as best I can.

    Shawn Bollig, Owner

    Energy Fitness Mt. Horeb WI

    W/608-437-2582

    C/608-279-3799

    Thank you,

  6. Meg "roccoriel"

    This sort of things reminds me why I could never be a front-line animal rescuer, despite the fact that when I am able to have my own animals, they will likely be primarily rescues.

    I’d end up in jail too damn fast after knocking out someone like the loser who starved his horses.

Leave a Reply

