Half Stallion/Gelding


I have a 2 year old paint pony/horse. He is around 13 hand and probably wont get no taller than 14 hands. I got him from an auction a year ago. He is free to an approved home. and the reason why he is free is because he has a club foot and just recently his one testicle dropped down. so he is half stallion/gelding.Also i have a mare and i dont need an oops foal. I dont have the money for his surgery for his club foot. but i have my ferrier just keep his heel trimmed down and he is fine, he gets around fine and i sound other than that. He ties,bathes and is ok for ferrier and vet. He is not broke to ride but he quiet enough that i give my 2 year old neice pony rides on him bareback. He a companion horse only unless you can afford to have his surgery done then he would be rideable. He must go, please have that heart for this sweet young man please call ### ### #### please help i dont wanna take him back where i got him.

You bought him a year ago?  So you freely admit you know the horse is male?  And yet, all of a sudden you can’t afford to geld him and have to give him away because you don’t want “an oops foal”.  Are you sure he can even procreate?  According to the ad he’s only half a stallion!

Psst.  Just as a side note, for your own edification, one dropped testicle does not a half stallion make.  Until you remove the balls completely (and please, this horse should NOT be kept a stallion!) he is a stallion and not a gelding.  Just because you can’t see one doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist!

As for the club foot, you’ve kind of shot yourself in your own foot, credibility-wise, after that half stallion comment.  If I were to look at this horse, I would have my own vet take a look-see to determine if surgery really is required.  For more information on clubbed hooves, there’s a decent article on The Horse (there usually is).  The article states that “Early detection of a club foot also is key to the successful treatment of the problem; the earlier it’s detected, the earlier aggressive treatment can begin and the better the odds are that the horse will go on to a successful athletic career.”  Just one of the many reasons people who aren’t prepared to commit financially (as well as the myriad of other ways in which horses take over our lives) should just keep walking.  Ok ok, I may be letting my slightly jaded nature take over here.  Let’s give the owner the benefit of the doubt and assume they’ve had the vet out repeatedly since purchasing this guy and surgery really is the only way to go.  Could happen, right?

Now, um, let me get this straight; your entreating random, anonymous internet people to have a heart when you clearly can’t be bothered?

I’m sorry, I want to believe that their heart is in the right place.  They did pick this guy up from an auction.  But why, oh why, did you pick up an ungelded, club footed colt when you know you don’t have the funds to properly care for him?!  IT WAS AN AUCTION! I’m sure there were plenty of others to choose from!! No wait, don’t tell me, it was because he’s a perdy color.  Am I right?  Come on, tell me I’m right. (This is one of those times where tone and vocal inflection are probably required so I would ask that you imagine me sarcastically saying this in a light, comically gushing tone.  Think: playing with a dog and you say “who’s a good boy? Are you a good boy? You’re such a good boy” -come on, we’ve all heard that one before! )

I would like to know what planet this person lives on.  I want to go live there.  It must be a lot more pleasant than this one!  Because on planet Earth, more than likely, the only people who are going to pick up a free horse that requires surgery to be rideable are kill buyers.  Good job, you delayed the inevitable for a year while how many other, more suitable to you, horses went to kill buyers at that auction?

THAT’S IT!!!!  Tomorrow I’m posting a happy story!!!!!

About snarkyrider

We're snarktastic

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Bad Horse Ads, Conformation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. God. Is it just me? Am I the *only* person who thinks paint colored horses suck? I have a pinto mustang, but not because I went out and bought her. She was given to me and I seriously had to think long and hard because I never wanted a paint-colored horse.

    And I totally want to move to his planet, as well. Maybe there I’d have a better chance of finding the right guy… LOL

    • Oh no, I’m with ya. I don’t particularly care for paints. I like bays or a nice, dramatic true black!

      bahaha maybe on Happy Horse Planet they’re all the right guys. They bring breakfast in bed, help clean the barn, clean the house themselves. ~sigh~ it sounds magical lol

      • Can’t agree with you here, I love my paint gelding. Why do you have such strong feelings against them? Personally, colour is the last box on the horse checklist. Everyone has different biases though I guess. Rooster happens to be a bay roan paint, 😉 ya you’ll probably have some issues with that colour scheme lol, however, his conformation is good, he is willing, calm and eager to learn. We bought him because of these reasons not his crazy colour but they are a bonus. Happy Snarking!

        • haha I have no idea why I’m so anti-paint. It’s just a personal preference. Having said that, color is definitely last on the purchase checklist. If I found a paint that had everything else I needed, color wouldn’t matter. I’d even go so far as to get a grey, if it met all the other check points, and happily scrub off the poo stains day in and day out 😛

          • I don’t really like paints either. However, I have an incredible soft spot for Appy’s. My dream horse would be an Appy/TB cross. Conformation and athletics of a well-bred Thoroughbred with the color and mind of an App. I think they call them “Appaloosa Sport Horses”. However, the is a breeder in the midwest I think that currently has a breeding program crossing Apps and Teke’s. I have no idea why, but I’m wondering if anyone has also seen that site? Does anyone know why someone would cross those two breeds?

            Anyway, back to this guy. Like I said, I’m not really a paint fan, and I know he has his problems, but I just had to say I think he has a precious face. That doesn’t mean he should keep his balls by any means or that I would buy him at an auction with a club foot, but from the tiny photo as far as I can tell he has a cute face.

            • Those are called ‘Nez Perce’ horses – they believe that the Tekes have qualities akin to older appaloosas…qualities the appaloosa breed has lost due to heavy crossing with Quarter Horses and are trying to get those qualities back. Not sure of the actual details, but that’s the point.

      • I feel the same way. I don’t see the appeal in paints. They say a good hose is nver a bad colors, but paint is certainly last on my color preference. If I could choose I’d go with a black horse (of course i wouldn’t take any black horse, regardless of conformation). Funny that I ended up with a very white gray, which is a nice color, when you can get them to stay clean haha.

    • Any horse that’s bred soley for it’s color, sucks. That’s what annoys me about Paints. Heck, let’s start a Chestnut registry for quarter horses. Oh wait, stupid people wouldn’t think chestnut was purdy enough. God knows most don’t give two bits about conformation or temperament.

      Every time I hear someone say that they would pass up other more qualified horses just to have a specific color or marking is retarded. Wait, not retarded… they’re just clueless about horses. Absolutely ignorant. Completely lacking in horse knowledge. Superficial and shallow.

      I bought a half-paint. She’s got decent conformation, no spots. Her siblings didn’t end up so well. Conformational train wrecks. All so someone could have spots.

  2. Hey, this guy’s in my neck of the woods! He’s been haunting our local craigslist for a while now, and your “you delayed the inevitable for a year while how many other, more suitable to you, horses went to kill buyers at that auction” comment is all I can think of, every time I see the ad. I mean, I can understand if he was a crypt and dropped that second testicle after they brought him home, but c’mon! It’s not like someone gave him fuzzy slippers to hide that club foot!

    Guaranteed the auction she’s talking about is New Holland. Ya know what? You’re right – they never get horses through there. Gotta jump on the first sad face you see cause ya never know when you’ll get another chance to rescue a horse at that place!

    • I was actually the one who sent in this ad. This lady has been posting on the Baltimore craigslist for like, 4 months now, trying to find this guy a home.

      I also feel like if you can’t make a good, solid decision at an auction, you probably shouldn’t go to one (at least not with cash or a good friend to talk you out of buying). There are plenty of sad faces, no matter what auction you go too. But if you want a good ride-able horse, you need to be able to look at conformation, and detect possible injuries/deformities etc. You also need to be aware of the fact that the horse may have hidden issues that will cost big bucks to fix. My current mare was a sad sack of bones when I picked her up at the Thurmont, MD horse auction for a whopping $40. But I had too look past her sad face and look at what was under the matted muddy hair, and the scared look. Underneath was a little arab mare with solid conformation and no easily visible problems.

      I was lucky. She turned out to be sound and young. I trained her, and she has been a great little trail horse for me this past year. Auctions are a gamble, even if you know what you’re doing. On contrast, a close friend of mine picked up a draft mare at New Holland. In the two years she has owned this horse, she has never even walked a completely sound step. She is now being forced to deal with the fact that she has put more then $15,000 into a $300 horse, and is now filing bankruptcy and considering to euthanize this mare.

      I feel that if someone claims a horse is half stallion, half gelding they have no business being at (or BUYING!) from an auction barn. Let alone owning a horse. Oh well, at least she recognizes the potential for an accidental foal and is at least trying to get him away from the mare. Lord knows the world doesn’t need another one of this guy…

  3. I’ve been to plenty of auctions when horse after horse sells for meat. Along comes a fugly youngster – one who is scared, thin, wormy, and with untrimmed hooves and your heart breaks for him, you can’t let the meat man get him too. You have 1 minute to make a decision and you bid. You end up with him and think that you have saved him. You take him home, fix him up best you can and try to rehome him. Unfortunatly, some horses are at auction for a reason and sometimes your heart overrules your head and you end up with physical, or worse, mental problems that you were not aware of at the auction barn. True, she probably should have let him go, but now that she does have him, she is trying to spare him the trip back. Can’t blame her for that. Given the cost of the surgery, he will be tough to even give away, but he’s a life. I once bought a scared yearling colt, his front feet were worn to nubs from pawing the cement floor there, he was dragged (all 4 legs locked) into the ring and I made that 1 minute decision to buy him. Paid $75 for him. After contacting his owner, I found out he was rounded up out of the pasture and sold because of a divorce. His sire’s stud fee was $3500. He was a true diamond in the rough. I fixed him up and resold him to a loving home 3 months later. He rewarded his new owner by winning multiple championships for her. Sometimes you win and sometimes you loose. Buying a club footed crypt was not a good idea, but I know how she felt when faced with the decision to “save” him or let him go. If you can’t afford to fix what you buy, it’s best to avoid those places so you aren’t tempted.

    • That’s a very good point. I can totally see myself having that problem at an auction. If you’re interested, maybe you could do a guest post on your experience at the auction? I think it’d be a very interesting read and a glimpse into the auction world that a lot of people don’t have.

  4. It sounds to me like she really belived he was a gelding when she bought him and then had the unfortunate surprise of finding a freshly-descended testicle a year later (darn, but that had to be a bad day- can you imagine? Especially since it sounds like he was kept near her mare as a trusted gelding). Maybe that was just the straw that broke the camel’s back- the fact that, not only is the horse unrideable due to a condition she can’t afford to fix, but the horse came with surprise balls and now wants to knock-up her mare (which she also can’t afford to fix).

    I agree that, ideally, she should not have bought the horse knowing that she could not afford a veterinary bill. Regardless, it sounds like she cared for him as well as she could within her means (farrier care for club foot) and tolerated him as a pasture ornament until the ball dropped (literally). Now she has accepted that she is in over her head with an cryptorchid, and she’s not sending him back to the meat auction. I respect that.

    The situation doesn’t have any easy answers, and I don’t know what kind of a home she will be able to find for a stallion who needs pricey crypt and leg surgeries to be a good riding/pet prospect. At least she intends to approve the home.

    The best thing we can do here is to emphasize the moral of the story: *auction rescues usually have pricey, complicated strings attached, and they should not be attempted by those who do not have the money, facilities and time available to commit to them. Love is not enough*

    • “auction rescues usually have pricey, complicated strings attached, and they should not be attempted by those who do not have the money, facilities and time available to commit to them. Love is not enough”

      Couldn’t agree more. I mean, if you’re going buy a horse from an auction, no matter how cheap he is, you should there will most likely be a big vet bill attached.

  5. Got the giggles over half a stud…seriously? There is an older gentleman not far from us who raises paints, and he has some of the best tempered most willing horses I’ve ever seen. Our tri-colored Taya (half Arabian) is out of his stud. Sweet as she can be. Pretty sure every breed out there comes with a lemon (or ten 😉 Sometimes I think Craig’s List should be *cough* classified as part of the entertainment industry.

    Mad Max is a cryptorchid; though we didn’t know that when we rescued him (and if Joe Paint’s number two hasn’t dropped by now, it probably won’t). Gelding is considerably more involved (and expensive) as the vet has to perform a more serious surgery to go in and find the missing one which may or may not be palpable. Thankfully Max’s “second one” wasn’t too far up in the abdominal cavity, so the surgery wasn’t too intense and his recovery fairly quick. If I remember right, there is a prevalence for it in the Doc Bar lines.

    Although I can’t really follow the logic of these people, it’s likely they didn’t have a clue about the cryptorchid part until after (I certainly had never heard of it until Max came along). As to those rescues from the auction? Those dream horses can become nightmares in a hoofbeat.

  6. Poor guy, Paints aren’t my thing, mostly because around here it’s hard to find a nice one. Mostly poorly conformed, sad looking things. But this guy is kinda cute. Too bad.

  7. Personally, if you use the term “half-stallion” in a none-joking manner, you probably shouldn’t own horses. But that’s just my opinion. I can understand where this person is coming from as far as the “oops testical” is concerned (it could have honestly been a surprise that came later). Things happen. But taking on a rescue is going to be expensive, and people need to realize this. Euthanasia would be a kinder fate for this horse than being taken back to an auction and sent to kill. I hope it finds a good home, but there are plenty of healthy, sound geldings that need homes too. Poor baby.

    http://www.itsbraintime.blogspot.com

  8. Snarky,,,I do believe you run a little harsh. My husband and I have spirited horses out of auctions with maladies and injuries and little hope for the future. We are not millionaires, in the least. We struggle day to day. An auction is a precarious adventure. Have you been to one? Have you saved a horse that became your best riding mount for 5 years now and counting….just a hop on and go? Well, he wasn’t a peach day one. He tried to bite my husband and a male friend….he took time, training, willingness to teach and a heart the size of Texas inside him, once he felt safe. Now I’d ride my Red in the dark, through an emergency, to save another animal or human…he has no limits.
    My point…
    Go easy on your comments. Maybe not to the paint gelding/sans stallion thing…but lighten up a touch. If I’d read you before sitting in those seats that day 6 years ago…you’d scare me to pass. What a loss would that be. I’m lookin at him right now, out my window. Take responsibility, if you are to frighten every eager rider off a less than perfect horse at auction…hell, you’d have crushed my world.
    I’m glad I didn’t know you then.

    • I’m really glad your rescue worked out for but I think youre kind of missing our point. It wasn’t meant to scare people off of auctions or rescues but rather that people should be prepared to put in the work and possibly money for vet and farrier bills – which the subject of this post was not prepared to do.

Leave a Reply

