Why CAN’T we all just get along?


Did you all see the link to the cute little picture of Puss in Boots? Know the character? Those big pleading eyes, looking so innocent…and then WHAMMO! You let your guard down and you are filleted like a fish! I just imagined him asking this morning…Why can’t we all just get aloonnnggg…….

A year or so ago, I was disgusted to see a national resource group for horse rescues fund raising for an organization who has received multiple complaints for neglect. They’re always on “monitor” status with the county, always begging for feed, and yet, always taking in more animals. At that time, the fund raiser basically asked – Why can’t you just support them and support the animals they have? They promise not to take more!  On the surface, that sounds like a fine idea. Keep animals fed, right? But if you spend, oh…a nanosecond thinking about it, you’ll realize why this doesn’t work. By supporting a rescue like this, you are enabling them to continue to collect animals who, in turn, continue to languish in substandard conditions. (This particular group just issued an urgent plea for help saying they only had a few days of hay left, collected donations, and then promptly collected more animals. See my point? The cycle never ends.)

So, yesterday, when I saw a Facebook post asking  “There are basically two types of rescues….the one with lots of helpers, sponsors and donations; and then there’s the one with no helpers, no sponsors and not enough donations to feed their horses through the winter months. These less fortunate rescues go without food and medical care for themselves so they can provide same for the horses. My question is rather simple: Why doesn’t the more fortunate rescue help the less fortunate rescue?”…  It struck a chord. (This post is on a wall that is open to the public and I’ve made a copy of it to preserve accuracy.)  

Let’s look at this for a minute. My first red flag is “less fortunate go without food and medical care for themselves so they can provide same for the horses.”

Wait. WHAT? Can anyone say hoarder? Repeat after me folks: “I do everything for the animals so they don’t have to go without” is *coughcough* BULLSHIT. You need to sit down with a therapist, and quick. You are not God’s gift to these animals. If you are sacrificing your own health just to save one more, you’re mental. End of story. Same goes for those who say “But I can fit just onnnee more in. My other animals will do without, but just a little…”    Come here so I can slap some sense into you.

Now, as if that scary mentality weren’t enough, you have the replies that were posted to that question.  I’m copying and pasting them here just as they were sent to me. They have apparently been deleted, so I can’t vouch for accuracy and I don’t know the posters. I will only share with you what I have seen, and will let you come to your own conclusions.

***Please note – there are several organizations with the name Safe Haven or Safehaven on Facebook.

Safehaven Horserescue I unfortunatly am not allowed to work due to an jinjury suffered when I was in the military so I am on disability but I fund raise by the auctions and yes there are times I have to dip hell there alot of times I have to dip [:)]

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Safehaven Horserescue where’d you go Tina ?????

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Safehaven Horserescue see I can’t even spell right [:)]

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Tina Hammond Im here. Sorry was on the phone

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Safehaven Horserescue get linda back on this [:)] this is a very good discussion I am actually speaking up this time [:)]

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Safehaven Horserescue what no more discussions????

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Heidi Jasmer @ Safehaven Horserescue I too am on disability due to an accident I had so I understand what you mean by dipping sometimes we do what we have to be proud of what you do

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Safehaven Horserescue Thank you Heidi but it isn’t just our rescue it is alot of other rescues too

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Heidi Jasmer I know it isn’t just yours because I see it all the time but wanted to tell you what I thought [:)]

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike · 1.

Safehaven Horserescue I am very appreciative [:)]

4 hours ago · LikeUnlike.

Really?  R E A L L Y ?  THIS IS WHY!!!  This is why people don’t support you, YOU IDIOTS!  This is why other rescues don’t want to be associated with you! Does it take a rocket scientist to figure this out? I don’t think so – and I bet the readers of this post will catch on pretty quickly as well.

Here’s the deal. People like this piss me off. There are hard working rescue organizations (not to be confused with the disabled hoarder sitting behind a keyboard trying to represent a well run organization!) who are working day in and day out to build sustainable organizations that are run as well as any business. The LONG TERM welfare of their animals is their top priority. You will find them working with law enforcement and veterinarians to take in the worst case scenario, not sitting at an auction picking up a horse here and there that they alone have determined is “at risk”.  They are implementing programs, castration and euthanasia assistance, hay banks and more, to keep those horses out of the auction in the first damned place! Those well run organizations aren’t going to hand their donors (or their donors money) over to you so you can “dip”  from the funds as you see fit! Instead, they’re going to try to prevent the horses from ever ending up in a rescue to begin with! (And in case you missed it, that IS helping you!) Donors and foundations send money to places like this because they know their money will be used wisely and appropriately.

And along those lines, imagine my surprise to see someone post how upset they were to see a rescue fund raise for training costs.  Seriously?  How, exactly, do you think most of those horses end up at the auction? Training should be a priority for rescues. Well, let me amend that, a priority for WELL RUN rescues.  Animals need to be safely handled, and getting them started under saddle will only make them more adoptable and less likely to be dumped later on in life.  But something tells me long term goals are just not in the line of thinking here. I can imagine the same folks adopting out skinny horses, allowing the adopter to (hopefully) finish rehab, or stud colts (hoping) they follow through with castration. And yet, on the same thread,  someone claiming to “dip” into rescue funds doesn’t get a second glance?  This isn’t a numbers game people. It’s not about how many horses you networked or bought at auction, it’s about providing a long term safety net for the animal. Training is that safety net.

What kind of world are we living in where people who can not manage their own finances are suddenly in charge of the welfare and safety of rescued animals? And yet, donors who buy into the “poor me, I’m disabled, I’m doing God’s work, please send money” – perpetuate the cycle and eventually a larger rescue group has to come along and pick up the pieces. Or a county goes bankrupt when they have to seize 30 starving horses. What has happened to common sense? And where did this sense of entitlement come from? Don’t get me wrong. Most people with disabilities can do just about anything they set their minds to. They also put their health and safety first and foremost, along with the well being of their family. And in case you missed it, we’re not talking about rescuing parakeets here folks. We’re talking horses. Animals who have an uncanny knack for using their 1000lb bodies to hurt themselves or you, animals who always seem to need very heavy and cumbersome feed, heavy water buckets, even heavy poop! Most able bodied horse owners fall into bed at the end of the day, near exhaustion. This isn’t about any particular physical limitations, it’s about a mind set, and I’m referencing the mind set of the posters above who feel the need to “dip” because they’ve gotten overwhelmed, and yet feel someone, somewhere, ought to be sending them some MORE money!

If you’ve bought into that sunshine and butterflies fairy tale of all rescues pooling their funds to give a helping hand to dear Suzy Hoarder next door who can’t feed her horses, yet again, then I’d suggest you derail your damned pity train and check yourself.  Rescue is probably NOT the job for you.

I am proud to say SMM has worked with and supports organizations such as Front Range Equine Rescue, Falcon Ridge, Southern California TB Rescue, Habitat For Horses and select others. These organizations are role models that any new start up group should look to for guidance, along with the standards of care and operation set forth by GFAS.

I highly recommend that anyone wanting to obtain non profit status should hire an attorney and LISTEN to their suggestions.  Our attorney is David Atkin with Non Profit Support Services in Eugene, Oregon.  He works world wide with non profit groups. (Yes, attorneys cost money. So do horses. Do you want to do it right, or do you want to FAIL in 5 years?)

Here’s the deal folks: Good rescues are tired of this crap. Karma may be slow, but she’s persistent. So is the IRS and your state’s Attorney General.  So in a few years, when you think all has been forgotten, you might just be surprised.

In Oregon – Attorney General – Charitable Activities Division – 971-673-1880.

In California – Attorney General – http://oag.ca.gov/contact

If you’re in another state – feel free to add your information in comments!

————

Today’s post is brought to you by the letter D, for Darla Clark of Strawberry Mountain Mustangs.

Can we get a “hells yeah”?!

About snarkyrider

We're snarktastic

Posted on February 10, 2012, in Featured Rescues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 51 Comments.

  1. Here it is! HELL’S YEAH! This is just awesome! I am glad there are other people that agree with me on this. I have seen too many “rescues” become the way a person makes a living. Off of other people’s money and heart strings. All the while the animals are not getting the best care, more are being taken in, and the “rescue” people are eating steaks and sitting on their ass. I volunteer, when I can, for a very small rescue called Reilly’s Ranch out here in West Texas. It was started by a family and times may be tough here and there, but NEVER do they dip into the rescue funds nor do they take any more horses than they can handle. I have seen her turn away a horse because they just could not afford it. She did however, get on the phone and found a good foster for it. Amy works really hard with local law enforcement and the community to make sure there is a good working relationship when somthing happens.She is really good about finding fosters should an emergency situation arise and she needs to take an extra horse in for recovery from neglect. No stud ever leaves her place as a stud. EVER. Period. She is good on checking up on adoptors and making sure the adopted horse are still being cared for properly. They are not big, but they are mighty. Thank you again for posting this. I wish I could spread it to ever nook and cranny there is so that “unkowing” people can see the truth behind some of the places they are supporting.

  2. HELLS YEA! I love Darla’s posts.

  3. I am 23 and disabled, and fucktards like these people give the truly ill a bad name. No wonder people instinctively recoil when someone mentions that they’re disabled. How much money do you want to bet that these two ladies are disabled due largely to being excessively overweight or secondary problems caused by obesity? I smell a lazy, scumsucking leech. Oh wait, make that two!

    Omg I’m so fucking angry. What happens when the funds run out, because they inevitably will? You can’t even grab a second, or third, or forth job in the worst case scenario to help foot the bill. So you know what’s going to happen? Those horses will starve in a field. And I would also like to know how, if they’re disabled, they’re doing barn work? Are they completely relying on outside help on all fronts to run their “rescue”? Or, which is probably more likely, their “rescues” are standing hock deep in their own shit while they’re Facebooking on their Ipads with their “double dips”.

    VFQIHV QWHVFIQVW CHJJJVINCQBFHEWIAVS AQWERQ E

    I don’t want to live on this planet anymore…

    • My sister is leaglly blind and would give her eye-teeth to have a job, but for liability reasons noone will hire her! So this really chaps my ass when I see ingrates abusing the system set up for those who really need it. BS and these losers need to be reported!!!

    • I find your comment highly inappropriate you know their names and not their story. Please think before you post something like this. You could hurt someone’s feelings to an extreme. That and how do you know what their lives are like, some people work very hard to save horses lives and to have someone post something like this on here is ridiculous.

      What if they were to come across this, which I’m sure they have. What if someone wrote something like what you wrote in your comment here about you. I’m sure your feelings would be hurt too. I don’t understand why you people write stuff like this without thinking about the other person on the other side. It’s sad and depressing. Please people think before you post stuff like this.

  4. Crazysparkles, stay! Do it as a community service! Imagine what would be left if all of us that have frequent “I don’t want to live on this planet any more” moments actually did leave?! We need Darla as karmic balance for all the crazies for example.

    This subject makes me so angry! I’ve never figured out why people like these ones above persist in placing the disability front and centre as if it somehow makes them more virtuous. Disabled people are people, some good, some bad, many dealing with some additional issues but they are not defined or necessarily ennobled by their disability just as having cancer does not make you automatically “brave”. If you were a lazy jackass with poor business sense before your disability (for example), there is a very high probability that you may become a disabled lazy jackass with poor business sense. Unless you make a conscious decision to change, obviously. Big difference between saying “I work as a [insert whatever], love horses and Guinness beer and my family, and oh, by the way, I am disabled. I do all I can for horse rescue.” and the really obnoxious “I am disabled and so I am better than you when I try to rescue horses so everyone should give me their money and stop being so tight-fisted. It’s OK if I fail, because my life is REALLY hard.”

    I NEVER have sympathy for anyone making these arguments. Your first responsibility is to yourself, then to any human dependents, then to your animal dependents if and when you can afford them. If you’re not OK or better financially and emotionally more often than not and you have no sound business sense, eventually your dependents won’t be OK either. Then you’re not a rescue. You’re just another charity and rescue subject yourself. Except that you’re a larger burden on your community because you’ve deluded yourself into thinking that you’re helping your animals as opposed to dragging them down with you; your self-righteousness is grating as opposed to lovable; and unlike the poor animals, you’ve brought it all on yourself.

    Rant over. Still irritated by conversation above. Also having an “I don’t want to live on this planet any more” moment. $%@#!

    • how about this one saying I put it front and center? very rarely have I spoke up about my having a disability and have never wanted others to feel sorry for me I am angry now

  5. Hi all! I wanted to clarify a few things.

    I do not personally know any of the rescues listed here – but I do understand there is a fair amount of drama (imagine that!) among a few groups. Of course that’s how things get copied and pasted on facebook when people make an idiot of themselves! (Note to self…check idiot status first…then privacy settings.) Friends overlap, and when someone on another page mentioned this, I started digging.

    I made the statement that the posts had apparently been deleted, so I couldn’t vouch for accuracy. I was wrong. The posts still exist and I now have screen captures of the entire conversation. I’ll email the one related page to Snarky for their records – but the entire document is 20+ pages long and includes a lot of pretty sane sounding people that are probably wishing they’d never been associated… but that’s beside the point. I will now say that I vouch for the accuracy of the cut and paste that was originally sent to me. I’ve seen the original thread, I’ve seen the “shared thread”, and all 120+ comments.

    I’m still waiting for a reasonable explanation about what “dipping” is, but haven’t found one yet. Skinny dipping? Double dipping your chip in the party dip? *scratches head*

    On my FB page, I was asked if I could “prove this person was misappropriating funds”. This was my response:

    Which one? Seems to be a few? ;} But actually – I don’t care to even try. This is the type of stuff for an investigator to look into. But if they’re…uh…”open” enough to post publicly that this is what they do, I wouldn’t doubt an investigator could prove it. My point in writing this post is to point out exactly WHY rescues like those listed DON’T get help from others. They are unprofessional, irresponsible people who always look to blame others – and yet are the first to scream “OH! DRAMA!”

    I stand behind my post.

    • what about this post saying quite a few of them? my name is plastered on this thing and I am being harassed for what taking part in a conversation?

      • “Which one? Seems to be a few?” is the exact quote. It is in direct response to this, from the original thread:

        “… it isn’t just our rescue it is alot of other rescues too” to which you replied, in part :

        “…I see it all the time…”

        More than one, qualifies as a few. “Alot of others”, most certainly qualifies as a few. “I see it all the time” would certainly lead you to believe there is more than one, ie, a few.

  6. “If you were a lazy jackass with poor business sense before your disability (for example), there is a very high probability that you may become a disabled lazy jackass with poor business sense.”

    Kotka, I think I love you.

  7. Amen! I know of a person that works her @ss off to support her rescues. Fund rasie? What’s that, last time she tried couldn’t get a penny. That was almost a year ago..I see her just steam on (I am also on bod) and we discuss things like this post because it like WTF??
    How is it ppl like that survive but ppl like her are slapped around ignored? The dirty blackhole rescues just screw it all up for the good ones!

  8. Darla, I loved your post and the work SMM does … I just wish I were closer, so I could volunteer and donate to people with spelling skills, horse sense and a professional attitude to go along with the heart. It really shouldn’t be too much to ask for from any organization wanting support, right?!

  9. DesignzFor Equinez
    why not ask her the questions instead of writing this bull shit blog??? who isnt on a fixed income in this economy??? i own my own company and i know iam!!! but i just budget best i can!!! Karren does amazing for these horses and dogs!!! YES DOGS!!! if she is a hoarder as claimed then why do i have two of her horses here on my farm?? i think some people need to lean to go to the person and ask Karren ment she dipps into her own pocket to pick up slack that her fundraising efforts dont cover!!! she doesnt take money from the horses to cover her personal stuff like bills… food… whatever infact she takes money out of her own pocket to buy the things she auctions off as do i to help raise funds!!! we treat this rescue as a business… there fore we spend money to help make more money to care for these horses… as for pictures of the horses i do believe there have been plenty of pictures posted from when i go and work with the horses!!!! she has 14 horses that are fat and healthy!!! her Gate is always open to anyone who wants to come to the farm an see horses or even help fix the things that need to be fixed!!! and or answer any questions someone might have!!! i pray that ya’ll find a new hobby in your life so ya’ll can leave good people/rescues alone!!! best wished from my horses farm to ya’lls

    • Um… I see words here, but for the life of me I have no fucking clue what you are trying to say.

      Stop, breath, write a complete sentence (with punctuation and capitalization) if your limited education will allow you to and I will try to see if what you have to say is worth hearing.

      Until then, it’s all just “blah, blah, blah”…

  10. Ha ha too funny I was partof this convo, and I have most of the first 89 comments, I was the one who first pointed out that is is illegal to “dip” into any funds even more so while on disability, you are supposed to report and sums of money, regardless of where they came from! Thanks for writing this, I am soooo sick of people being jealous of legit rescues who can and do pull their own weight, whilst they are “dipping” into their auction funds, which I was a sucker too only once! Keep Up the good work 🙂

    • sorry for typos, trying to multi-task…lol!

    • So I want to clarify somethings first I didn’t see where you had asked what dipping meant and why couldn’t you have sent me a pm? I said
      ” Heidi Jasmer @ Safehaven Horserescue I too am on disability due to an accident I had so I understand what you mean by dipping sometimes we do what we have to be proud of what you do”
      What I meant by that is sometimes I have to pay one bill and not another so taking the money that would have went to the other bill is dipping. I didn’t say I dip to help rescues as someone else has said. I was talking in my day to day life. I feel I am being misrepresented here and NO ONE bothered to ask me I have been called names and my character has been attacked all because I was trying to be kind and show that I could relate to another person. I do not run fund raisers I have never asked for funds nor am I a 501 or trying to be. Thank you for assuming it could have been so simple to pm me FYI pm is private message

  11. Erika – the good ones do survive. If it’s run well, the community will see the longevity and the business plan, and that’s usually something they will get behind. The constant, urgent, pathetic pleading over the internet gets old to just about any bleeding heart. Unfortunately, those donors just stop giving entirely because they’ve been bled dry.

    Thanks Kotka! I just posted on my own FB page that I’m sick to death of needing a frigging DECODER ring to figure out what some of these people are trying to say. We all have typos, my sentence structure usually sucks, but I don’t think it makes your eyes bleed to read it.

    There’s quite a conversation going on over on Grace’s facebook page – where I originally posted this. Safehaven rescue is there and has provided an explanation, if you’d like to read it. Search facebook for Grace the horse…

    • Darla,
      Yes they do, it’s just frustrating and at times appalling to see things & then see a rush of people who “feel” sorry etc. Just blows me away, at times I am beyond sick over it.
      Some rescues practices are beyond questionable; I myself have twice dealt with a reg. 501 with beyond questionable ways. Yet people flock to support it; I swear ignorance is bliss.

  12. It is disturbingly easy to get a 501c3 (non-profit) approved to start up a rescue operation. I have to admit it really frosts my cookies to see so many shady places rake in the “dough-nations” with apparent ease, knowing it will be misappropriated (and there always seems to be plenty more where that came from).

    Since our purpose was educational (although we have rescue horses), our non-profit status was a hard won battle with the Treasury Department. Close to an entire year of correspondence back and forth and a boatload of paperwork (please pass the Excedrin Migraine 😛 ) While it would have been easy peasy to just go the rescue route, it would have been unethical and stuff like that just makes me twitchy. I spent a few years working in the legal field and administration before the school system, and too often that sneaky stuff comes back to bite you later [big time]. *grin* I’ll pass.

    I will add that while our financial situation is vastly different from where we started (and not for the better), I can’t believe anyone would not only stoop so low as to “dip” from donations but would actually be dumb enough to post it on the internet. I’m betting his disability days are numbered, as Uncle is [most assuredly] watching.

    Gotta hand it to you girl, you sure know how to start a conversation. Even for me [and my motor mouth] this is a lot of comment. *laugh*

  13. I am having an issue with this statement (made by Safehaven Horserescue): “…I unfortunatly am not allowed to work due to an jinjury suffered when I was in the military so I am on disability”.

    I was discharged from the USMC with 30% disability (crushed three of my vertebrae to the point that I lost half an inch in height). Yet, this lady got 100% disability for PTSD. The VA guidelines for 100% disability for PTSD are: “Total occupational and social impairment, due to such symptoms as: gross impairment in thought process or communication; persistent delusions or hallucinations; grossly inappropriate behavior; persistent danger of hurting self or others; intermittent inability to perform activities of daily living (including maintenance of minimal personal hygiene); disorientation to time or place; memory loss for names of close relatives, own occupation occupation, or own name …………………..100%” http://www.vva.org/ptsd_levels.html

    70% isn’t much better, and I wouldn’t want any animal under the care of someone with suicidal thoughts, etc.

    So how about we call a spade a spade. You ARE allowed to work, you choose not to. Or you’re severely mentally impaired and putting the welfare of animals in your hands is… I’m at a loss for words.

    Her family dog ran off. Her comment was “Tia always comes home”. Seriously? You know your dog runs off, could potentially die due to this negligence, yet you continue to allow her off leash, or outside without fencing? That is NOT responsible pet ownership!

  14. First off all I was trying to do was show support to someone and by being kind my name is plastered on this blog. What’s worse are the things said about me being obese, lazy, a leech, a mentally ill horse hoarder ect….. When I said I was disabled I wasn’t looking for sympathy I was trying to show how I could relate to this person. I have never asked for money on the internet. My disability has nothing to do with my weight it came from an accident a horseback riding accident. I have a TBI that doesn’t make me any of the things said. I also want to clarify when I said about dipping I meant sometimes I take and pay all of one bill and not pay another to make ends meet.

    • Hi Heidi – I’m not sure where in the post you see those things being said about you. Maybe it’s because I just woke up and missed it, but I think maybe you missed the point of the post?

      • I must’ve missed it too.

        So, once again, (sigh), just pointing out that the thread was quoted verbatim. I didn’t “misrepresent”, or “plaster” names any where. In fact, I never named anyone. They’ve managed to do that on their own. Repeatedly, apparently.

        Since I am not the only one who read that post and it’s comments and interpreted them the way that I did, I might suggest people rethink their communication skills. However the term “dipping” was meant to be interpreted, hopefully by now the point of the post has sunken in, and that’s (in part) that NEITHER method is a financially responsible way to run a rescue.

        To go one step farther, I have to wonder why, in the original thread, when at least one person came on to question what, exactly, everyone meant by “dipping”, not one person stepped up to say “Oh my, I’m sorry, that is NOT what I meant, I’m sorry you misunderstood.” Or “What I meant was..” I mean, I certainly would have. I would have had a “Holy crap, I hope you don’t think that” moment and immediately clarified it. Only after this blog post did people come forward to say “I know what I said but it’s not what I meant.”

        Now, how many of you have seen that link going around facebook that says:

        No one is stalking you!
        You posted it publicly on facebook and people responded!
        That’s like undressing in public and calling people pervs for looking!

        If you are going to put something “out there” – it is up for individual interpretation and debate. If you don’t want to air your personal life, circumstances surrounding your disability, or anything else for that matter, then DON’T post it on a thread that relates to JUST THAT. You open the door, someone is going to walk through it. And if 7 out of 10 people interpret what you say in a specific manner (that you did not intend) again, rethink how you are coming across. In addition, as I’ve told Safehaven – if you are representing a rescue (and her situation was a bit different – she was posting under her rescue’s name) – every post you make is a resume for your rescue. You are posting and commenting as a business first, a charity second. How you communicate with others, whether it’s argumentative, or in poor grammar, or even how you voice your political beliefs on any particular topic, is seen as that of the organization.

        Lastly, if, as you claim, your children are getting “threats” because of this, then seriously, post the information here, identify the asshats who are doing it. If it’s really happening, it’s asinine. So out them. I’d be happy to point out to them, just as the intent of the original post was, that each individual is responsible for their own actions. Blaming your kids for your poorly worded posts (if that’s what you mean) on facebook is just as irresponsible as a poorly run rescue blaming a thriving one for their shortcomings.

        • I never saw the questions about dipping funds or I would have put what I meant by that I am not a 501c rescue I have fostered for rescues but have never ever taken any money never fund raised or nothing and you did put my name on this blog and I never blamed my kids for my as you say poorly written post. I wouldn’t have know about this if it were not for people contacting me what you do with public information is your business and yes I realize that when I put things out there it is public but really read the comments see what they say I said it before and will say it again out of 124 comments those were the few you chose to put up you couldn’t even take the time to ask me about what I meant?????

          • Sigh. I’m trying to be patient, and I am trying to help you understand. But this is getting exhausting.

            You said that people had contacted your kids. If that’s true, let’s out them. Them blaming your kids…. (are you following me?) Not you blaming your kids. Slow down. Put down the caffeine. K?

            If I had asked you to clarify, as others DID, on the original thread, you apparently wouldn’t have seen it.

            Not only that, I have no desire to join that particular discussion, for all of the million reasons stated in the original blog post. It was sent to me, much after the fact. And it ended up being a portion of this particular blog. Not all of it. A portion.

            Again, as stated below: If you took each and every one of those issues and related it back to yourself…um…words fail me.

            Might I suggest, hindsight being what it is, this simple statement for your future use.

            “Hi, my name is Heidi. I was involved in the discussion mentioned. My comment was misunderstood, apparently by several people, (and I realize the internet is a public place) so I would just like to clarify that when I said I “dipped” to help rescues, I do not run a rescue, and I do not take donations. I have to “dip” into other personal funds to help the animals in my care.”

            That’s just one short example that came to mind. Feel free to use it if you want. Or maybe it will give you an idea for your own wording. But it’s short, to the point, and didn’t involve 35 blog posts. You said that if you had seen the question, you would have “put what you meant by that.”

            Now, I still don’t agree with it, I don’t think you should do it, but I understand the emotional aspect of it. (We’ve all wanted to help “just one more.”) And if that had been what you posted on that thread – I would have included it. And you and I wouldn’t be expending our energies trying to communicate here, would we?

            • I understand what you are saying now and sorry emotions are running high and no I didn’t mean take money to help just one more I meant that there have been times in my life where unexpected things have happened and I have had to take money that was going to pay one bill to pay another. what I said was
              ” I too am on disability due to an accident I had so I understand what you mean by dipping sometimes we do what we have to”
              What I meant by that is what is written above and will repeat there have been times in my life where unexpected things have happened and I have had to take money that was going to pay one bill to pay another
              as for the other part what I meant is I see a lot of rescues struggling and doing what they can to raise funds ect… that being said I have said what I feel I needed to hopefully people will read this and see that I didn’t mean doing something illegal

            • “Really? R E A L L Y ? THIS IS WHY!!! This is why people don’t support you, YOU IDIOTS! This is why other rescues don’t want to be associated with you! Does it take a rocket scientist to figure this out? I don’t think so – and I bet the readers of this post will catch on pretty quickly as well.”

              was this not directed at me?

              now something else has been bothering me you wrote:
              “Hi, my name is Heidi. I was involved in the discussion mentioned. My comment was misunderstood, apparently by several people, (and I realize the internet is a public place) so I would just like to clarify that when I said I “dipped” to help rescues, I do not run a rescue, and I do not take donations. I have to “dip” into other personal funds to help the animals in my care.”

              I didn’t say I dipped to help rescues
              Heidi Jasmer @ Safehaven Horserescue I too am on disability due to an accident I had so I understand what you mean by dipping sometimes we do what we have to be proud of what you do
              I was talking in my everyday life at times I have had to pay one bill and not another thus dipping the funds from lets say my phone bill to pay my electric bill

              I can assure you that my comment meant just that and had I seen someone asking I would have told them as such.
              I don’t understand why someone couldn’t have sent me a private message and asked me if they were so concerned about what I said people ASSUMED and I am asking them to stop and please quit with all the put downs and saying that I was saying I had a disability for attention or sympathy all I was doing was trying to show how I could relate to this other person
              I get crapped on for trying to be a decent human being
              What I don’t get is if this post was about miss use of fund such as the rescue that spent money on a hotel room when they went to auction instead of taking care of the horses that were already in their care and then they were begging for donations why didn’t you post that part of the conversation.
              Not one person here thought about my feelings some of their comments were harsh and cruel go up and read them see what they say tell me that none of those were directed at me
              not one of these people know me yet………………….. I didn’t call them names or say things about them such as being obese, leech, idiot and all the other things said

  15. a quote from a post above
    I am 23 and disabled, and fucktards like these people give the truly ill a bad name. No wonder people instinctively recoil when someone mentions that they’re disabled. How much money do you want to bet that these two ladies are disabled due largely to being excessively overweight or secondary problems caused by obesity? I smell a lazy, scumsucking leech. Oh wait, make that two!

    Omg I’m so fucking angry. What happens when the funds run out, because they inevitably will? You can’t even grab a second, or third, or forth job in the worst case scenario to help foot the bill. So you know what’s going to happen? Those horses will starve in a field. And I would also like to know how, if they’re disabled, they’re doing barn work? Are they completely relying on outside help on all fronts to run their “rescue”? Or, which is probably more likely, their “rescues” are standing hock deep in their own shit while they’re Facebooking on their Ipads with their “double dips”.

    VFQIHV QWHVFIQVW CHJJJVINCQBFHEWIAVS AQWERQ E

    I don’t want to live on this planet anymore…

    there is part of what I saw and is it not a personal attack?

  16. one final note there were over one hundred comments under this FB post yet the small section that I took part in the conversation is what was used here why couldn’t you have blocked out my name? I didn’t miss the point on how you want to slap me silly and how I misappropriate funds when I do no such thing nor was I looking for someone to feel sorry or bad for me I am very angry read the comments and tell me they were not personal attacks one person has admitted to me their comments were about me

    • I actually considered removing names. I felt that in doing so, people would question the authenticity (? if that’s the term I’m looking for) of the post, or I would be accused of slanting the post, or “misrepresenting”. I posted it, in it’s entirety, just as it appeared in another public place.

      Now, in an effort to answer each and every one of your questions – let’s move on to your next statement. From the blog:

      “If you are sacrificing your own health just to save one more, you’re mental. End of story. Same goes for those who say “But I can fit just onnnee more in. My other animals will do without, but just a little…” Come here so I can slap some sense into you.”

      Now, at no point did I say, “Heidi, come here so I can slap you silly.”

      Heidi – do you sacrifice your own health just to save one more?

      Do you say “But I can fit just onnneee more in. My other animals will do without” ?

      Do you say these things? If you do, you need to need to realize the slippery slope you are on. If you do not say these things, it is safe to assume (and since you were not named in that context) that I wasn’t referring to you. Are you following me?

      Let’s not forget, for the umpteenth time, that there were several issues addressed in this particular blog post. From hoarding, to “dipping” (whatever your interpretation is), to irresponsible rescuing, to poor financial management, to rescues blaming each other, to people complaining about how rescues use funds… I mean…the list is almost endless. 😉 If you took each and every one of those issues and related it back to yourself…um…words fail me. And I’m not sure how to help you.

      • I didn’t take it that way but being called some of the things I have been called and accused of doing something illegal because of my trying to be kind and my name being on this blog has me asking what did I do to deserve this. I do not take in just one more and think my others can do with out. I am saddened by the people who take things way too far I think that rescues need to be very open as to where their funds go. I see far to many that are getting rich off their scams and it does make me angry. I am sorry I didn’t see other peoples responses/questions as to what I meant I even now went back and read a lot of the comments and still didn’t see but I never meant doing anything illegal and I never meant to be part of something like this I guess I should have stayed glued to the computer instead of living life as I said I do have a TBI it does affect somethings but over all I was lucky. I understand why you left things like you did but sadly now people think I am doing something illegal and that I am not to be trusted all over a comment I made oh well such is my life I try to be a kind caring person and in doing so I end up being bad it makes me want to give up if anyone can understand what I mean by that

  17. @mia yes I have PTSD and other issues relating to my military and they have me at 100% disability these horses and other animals have helped me and other veterans that come here. I am not angry but until you live in my shoes you have no idea how this works. I have a veteran program where they come and just be around the horses it calms them down. It is unfortunate that only my words show up. These horses are well cared for and I have the vet and animal control come and visist at least 2x’s a month. As far as my dog she runs off in the feild but this time the hunters set there dogs loose and she was chasing them off and her tags were found on the road. I am an open book I have pictures of all of my horses and since you all think I don’t post enough I will be posting pics so get ready I will be flooding all of your pages with feed bills hay bills vet bills farrier bills worming bills and every other bill that comes along with them. You all have your opinions and that is fine with me

    • So, you two know each other? (Honest question.)

      Rather than putting your energies into posting stuff on the internet, what about creating a file for each horse, and putting copies of related receipts in each? Just a thought. It would help you in the long run. Figure out a filing system that works for you, and something that you can access readily if someone has a question. People can question, with no ulterior motives ya know? It won’t always mean people are out to get you. It’s a bit of your life that changes when you become part of a public charity. It’s all far more tiring than hands on time with the animals, but that type of stuff is what gets you on the road to getting good grants, and recognition, and being a sustainable organization for the life of the animal.

      Do you have a website? Put your pictures up there. Or your FB page. But people get confused when you overlap your personal stuff with rescue stuff. (My personal FB page is notoriously unruly, even more opinionated that this blog, ((can you believe that?!)) and lately has a lot of issues with the choices The Bachelor is making.)

      That would be your public service/unsolicited advice announcement for the day.

  18. I think this whole post, and the issues surround it, can be summed up as follows

    Donations for horse care good. Using donations for travel/hotels bad.

    I know if I donated to a rescue and they used that money for travel (even if to save another horse) and not to provide care (including feed, vet, farrier and yes, training) for the horses they already have, I would pick another rescue to donate to in a heartbeat.

    • I agree with that statement it is donor beware educate yourself

    • Trust me when I say, any usage of funds is discussed before anyone uses them, all expenses are agreed upon before the money is used! Those of us who donate money always know where the money goes first, so if one does not agree their money will not be used! I think that is how it should be! This is the rescue I support, not all are so open and honest!

  19. all I can say about Heidi is that she is very passionate about her horses and takes very good care of them, makes sure that they are very well feed and does her best. Heidi is not a rescue and everything that Heidi has done has come out of her own pocket cause she cares that much and is that passionate about what she believes is the right thing and meant nobody any harm and wishes no harm to others. all she was trying to do was to say that she understand what it is like to have to make ends meet while trying to pursue her happiness and I think we can all agree that is what we are trying to do in life. I do agree that some people ruin what is a good thing and trying to take care of horses and shouldn’t use funds that are meant for other gains. Everything that Heidi has done has been out of her own pocket and has never asked for financial help. Wishing you all the best and best wishes to all. ~ RD

  20. Jung would have a field day with a certain someone here. A very educational and enlightening look at how a mind works. It bears a certain amount of clinical study. It would be interesting to collect a large sample of quotes from this cattagory and see what traits are shared.
    Hmmmmmmmmmm. Interesting. Too bad I couldn’t get them to take a MMPI.

  21. Each horse has there own file and thank you for the advice but as I stress I don’t dip into donations!!! There are times when an emergency may come up(horse) and I may have to use some of my own money at times….as far as dipping into the well,,,never said,,I f you had read it right the word you refer to well is actually the word hell. To me this is over and done with you did what you thought was best and I commend you for that….but for this to constantly go on is beyond my understanding…you made your point I made mine…let the chips fall as they may I have all my reciepts that go to the accountant which go to the Irs and when I recieve it I will post it. At least I am honest and I refuse to bash anyone for their own opinions. Thank you for all of the coverage you just keep me honest wether or not you think so

  22. And if there is one “Rescue/Sanctuary that needs investigating try never ends farm &Sanctuary….the wife was charged with a bunch of felonies to include usinga dead mans ssn,embexxelment fraud tax evasion and other things owes the gov’t millions and still has her 501(c)3 because she put it in her sons name…there that is something ya’ll can investagate. And if you pm me I will give you her name because you can google her name and find all the charges……So if your really worried about legit rescues lets see what you do with this one

  23. I have one thing to say back to this and this is not to start a war, but as I stated below to a certain comment I found quite unnecessary. This post is unnecessary. You know their names not their story’s. I wish people would think before they type something like this. Did you ever think that it might hurt your feelings if someone wrote something like this about you?

    The only thing I took out of this post was you insulting people with disabilities who try hard in the world to make a difference in some horses and peoples lives. Please, please think before posting something like this. You don’t necessarily know what they meant by what they were posting anyways. Not to mention as I’ve already stated you know their names not their stories or even what they are doing in life.

    • This post is about mismanaged rescues, not about the facebook conversation – that was merely the catalyst. No where in the post was anyone insulted. If you have issue with some of the comments made, that’s another consideration. However, the message of the post is a good one and I stand by it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

