Why people are stupid


Seriously, watch the video and then tell me you don’t think most of those people were taking more than their fair share of the stupids and depriving others of the world theirs.

Let’s see how many idiotic, stupid, completely fucking brainless moronic things we can point out in that video, shall we? FUN!

  1. The audiuence; no screaming at a horseshow!  I know it may be difficult to contain yourselves in the presence of such awesomeness, but calm the frak down.  Be respectful.  You wouldn’t hoot and holler at the Queen of England, now would you?  Welllll!
  2. Do not attempt to grab the reins of a panicking horse.  Even if you manage to get hold of them, you’re not going to be able to keep hold of them!  You’re going to freak the horse out even more and likely hurt yourself while doing so.
  3. Do not run anywhere near a spooking horse.  If you can see a spooking horse, it can likely see you – in which case you shouldn’t be doing anything but moving slowly and methodically, if you must move at all.
  4. I find it surprising that the announcer had to tell people to take the horses to the inside of the arena – I’d have already been there and off my little buggy.  But, then again, this is a video, things happen faster in real life (although, I can dismount pretty damn fast when needs be! Just sayin’…)
  5. Yelling “whoa” has never, ever, in the history of all that is horse, done a goddamned thing.  What horses respond to is the soothing tone that typically accompanies words like “whoa”.  Those western movies you idolized as a child were NOT based on reality.  Did anyone learn how to saw or drill from Tim “The Tool Man” Taylor?  I didn’t think so.
  6. Waving your arms also doesn’t work.  You’re not communicating with a freaking seagull.  This is a horse and that shit is scary!
  7. Goddamit you morons! Keep the horse out of the middle of the arena.  They’re only job was to keep the horse on the outside of the arena at that point, not stopping it.
  8. Yes, run at it with a saddle pad flapping in your arm.  Good decision making skills, you.

You know what, that’s enough from me.  Time for some audience participation.  I dare you to watch this video and NOT have something to say afterwards!

About snarkyrider

We're snarktastic

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Misc Horsies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 49 Comments.

  1. Wow. What a disaster!
    Shit happens, but those people made it way worse than it needed to be! And was one guy in the ring wearing sandals? WTF?
    Poor horses. . .

  2. This was posts on the FiSH forum a few years ago. The horse that is loose at the end, the one the original loose horse ran into, was being driven by a woman who is usually in a wheel chair. She could not get out of the cart. Someone went from holding her horse to pulling her out of the cart when the original horse colided with her’s. Many of the people on the ground weren’t thinking. The announcer does a good job of directing everyone, but few are listening.

  3. Whooping and hollering is very common at Saddlebred, Morgan, Fresian, etc. shows. I was able to attend several last year and you’d think a rock star was in the ring whenever the crowd’s favourite horse would go by the stands. Personally, I like it! I loved hearing the crowd cheer on their favourite. I’d prefer that over the complete silence of many other shows.
    My most annoying part of this all is at 2:00 when the guy holding a horse and cart LETS GO of that one to catch the other horse, and while now the previous one running is caught, the ONE HE HAD A HOLD OF is now running frantic.

  4. Yeah, this one has been around for a while. What does not make sense to me is that every horse/cart should have had a person standing at their head, just like they do in the line-up. Where the grounds crews all new to driving?

    I saw something very similar in Scottsdale at the Arab show. Idiot trainer with a ton of gear on the poor horse. He jerked and spurred this horse in to a frenzy. Poor horse couldn’t take it anymore, dumped the rider and took off. It was very frightening for every one, but at least the audience kept quiet and he was caught near the in-gate, eventually.

  5. I’ve seen that one before. Major fail on the part of the marshalls. You do not, ever, EVER, EVER chase a loose horse. You get out of its way and let it run itself out. I saw somebody almost get killed (seriously, she ended up in intensive care) trying to stop a loose horse. They WILL stop sooner or later and as long as any gates to roads or vehicle areas are closed (which they should be) and everyone stays out of their way…nobody’s going to get hurt.

  6. I’ve seen it before. With full length commentary on the idiocy of the bi-ped participants.

    It was painful to watch.
    I had to take several ‘moments’.

  7. I couldn’t stop watching. It’s like a horror flick. Every damn thing that could go wrong did and every worst way to handle it happened. That horse running around with one rear leg outside the shaft was the worst bit to me, because as a teamster I know the damage that can do.
    For some scrubbing mind bleach, watch this instead: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-MlXmXPe-4
    This is at a draft horse pull with far larger horses and far more horses in the ring. One team spooks and runs due to a harness break, but the announcer does exactly the right thing, keeping everyone calm and quiet. None of the other teams join the runaways. No one goes running after them like lions or idiot sea gulls, and they are caught and calmed in short order with little harm done.
    What gets me the most about the posted video is that most, if not all, of those horses will never be fit to drive again. They’re too traumatized. And I doubt they’ll get the retraining they need, going home with any idiot in that ring. I would not be surprised if some of those beautiful hackneys ended up at auction shortly after this video was taken.

    • Wow…that woman was insanely calm. ‘Somebody go get us an ambulance’ spoken in exactly the same quiet tones.

      I’ve never watched a pull, and it looks to me like the runaway was as much caused by the way they’re trained as anything else. Judging by the first pair, they’re taught to go, go GO as soon as the hitch is attached, and when those horses found nothing attached to it they just kept go go going…in fact they almost fell over, poor things.

    • I was there for this event. The announcer really held it all together. If I recall, the ambulance was for someone who jumped over the fence to get out of the ring and fell and broke his arm. My heart is pounding seeing this video again. Wow. With that much horse power and weight, the potential for disaster was great. As to the training of the horses, this team was asked to leave the ring. Some of the teams would have stopped once they felt no weight to pull against (once they caught their balance) and some of them were just trained to GO.

      • The first pair before the one where the hitch broke looked like they were trained to GO too, is why I was asking. I was wondering if that was typical. The pair looked confused and out of balance more than spooked/scared to me.

        I think I saw the guy jump over the fence. I can’t blame him…I’d have been over the fence with a draft pair coming at me too! I KNOW how much those horses weigh.

        • Ack – the part that gets me in this one is the man carrying the baby. Dad did a good job of getting out of the way, but I’m thinking inside the show ring isn’t the place for a toddler.

    • Wow, now that is horsemanship and common sense on everyone’s part! Crew, announcer, audience, other teams, horses, EVERYONE!

      • I dunno about everyone doing the right thing… I saw some frantic arm-waving at the onset when the runaways hit the end of the arena. However, if some 3,500 lbs. of draft horse was coming at me (combined weight of the pair) I have no idea of what I’d do – unfortunately I think waving my arms is probably it because I’d want to make damn sure they hopefully saw me before I was pulverized into the ground!

  8. Seriously…is it their first time? I’ve always given Arab people more credit for keeping a cool head with hot horses. HA! That all blew right out the announcers booth with this one! Let’s YELL over the loud speaker for everyone to “BE QUIET” wow, yes charging at the horse in an attempt to cut him off was another stroke of genius. Where did all these overweight over 50’s guys come running from anyway?! None of them appear to have a lick of horse sense about them. Oh…so much more I could say, 6 mins of some of the worst horsemanship on youtube. Live and learn, hopefully these people will do it all different if it happens again.

  9. Look at the bright side Snarky- At least now the horses can show off their fantastic Expressive Gaits to the judges without a silly human or cart to hold them back! ;P LOL

  10. What a group of idiots. People involved in showing should have to pass a show safety class before ever being allowed in the ring.

  11. I wasn’t upset with the horses but by GOD if I had a freind or a friends horse in the class I would have hunted some of those Idiots down with a Al3+ Baseball Bat and smacked them upside the head. How many times do you need to be told ” Leave The Horse Alone”.Perhaps before a header enters the ring they must pass the ” More than 2 Brain Cells” test

    Do you think because you are wearing a bright yellow stripe shirt this Exempts you from listening to all the ring annoncers instructions?

    If you chase a horse what do you think will happen?

    Does screaming at a frightened horse startle it into stopping to listen to what you might be saying?

    Will waving a saddle pad at a running horse get it to come to you because it wants to go for a trail ride?

    Do you have any Super powers we should know about that will allow you, who weighs 180 lbs, to defy physics, and stop a 1000lb horse who is allready in motion. If yes, can you harrow the ring between classes?

    Is the horse a prey animal or a preditor? explain.

    Solve for X 2 + 2 = x what is X

    How many jars of white paste glue have you eaten today? If you can’t remember just put an X.

  12. I was more annoyed by the one girl in the crowd that SCREAMED in terror every time the horse took a stride! I am sure if her pitch annoyed my ears, it was pissing off the already scared horse with super sensitive hearing.

    Can we also say that the first lesson you should learn with a bolting horse is to not step in front of him? Usually these horses weigh more than humans… (usually) and I dont try to run infront of a car to stop it.

  13. This one has always blown my mind. It’s been around for a while. I don’t understand how someone can be so clueless and still work with horses. I’ve been riding since I was 3 and competing since I was 8 and one of the first things I learned was no matter how terrified you were, to KEEP CALM, take deep breaths, move slowly, and let the horse work it out. no amount of human intervention is going to suddenly calm/stop a panicked horse.

    I received my first cart lesson on a young horse (probably not the best of choices but I was 10 and it was my trainer’s decision) Beautiful Morgan colt BTW, ended up wining several national championships. Anyway we got a little too close to the rail on one of our rounds and the wheel of the cart caught the entrance gait (my fault but I was new to this and the horse was fairly new as well) It made quite a noise and pulled a little on the cart and he bolted. (this was a training cart too nothing to lean back on. no place to put your feet but a small platform and a little bench seat to sit on)

    I engaged the reins, kept my balance (somehow) talked to him slowly and calmly even though I was absolutely terrified. It took about 14 rounds around the BIG arena to bring him back down to a walk and then to stop. My trainer was smart and just stood quietly in the middle of the ring and let me work it out, she didn’t bark orders (or if she did I couldn’t hear them, I was focused on the horse) she didn’t go after the horse or wave her arms like she was bringing in a 747. And he and I worked it out, neither of us any worse for wear. And he didn’t retain any fear of the cart after the incident. My trainer was so impressed with my ability to calmly work through the situation I became her new exercise rider and was able to go with her to nationals for the next 2 years where I got the opportunity to ride and show which was an amazing opportunity

  14. “no screaming at a horseshow!”

    It does depend on the discipline actually. Yeah, at dressage or hunter/jumper, the audience is so quiet you could hear a pin drop, but there are plenty of other disciplines where there’s music blaring and the audience is actually encouraged to yell and make noise, and the horses are used to it, so it doesn’t bother them in the least.

    BUT ANYWAY

    Holy crap *facepalm* I feel like the only person here with any intelligence was the announcer. I mean Jesus, I would’ve had my horse heading into the middle as soon as that other one started bucking and clearly wasn’t going to stop. One of the biggest rules at my barn: as soon as there is ANY indication that a rider might lose control, you stop your horse. If it continues for longer than a couple of seconds, you head into the middle. If the rider does lose control, you leave the arena as soon as you safely can – none of us need to be told this, we just do it.

    I feel like this was a case of everybody thinking he has some sort of special “horse whispering skillz” that will allow him to magically get the horse to stop.

    No.

    Yes, I have done the stand in front of the horse (but never directly in front, I’m not suicidal. What the hell were these people thinking?), wave your arms, and yell angrily thing with a horse that is just being an arsehole because he doesn’t want to be caught (though only with non-aggressive horses that I know will back down when they realize I’m not going to let them get away with that shit), but a panicking horse? They don’t frakking care if you’re the horse whisperer incarnate, as far as they’re concerned, something is trying to eat them, you are in their way, and the fastest and easiest way to get past you is to run you the hell over.

    Honestly, if I was the announcer, once it was clear that none of these people knew what the hell they were doing, I would’ve just gone “Frak it, everybody OUT. NOW. Spectators included.”

    God, what a disaster. I can’t even… There are just so many things that were handled wrong.

    Honestly, this would be an excellent video to show newbies about exactly what NOT to do with a panicking horse.

    • Like I said. The incident I saw was at a tiny show. A horse in a jump class hit a standard, shed his rider, panicked and RAN. He ran right through the ring ropes and into the spectators. This being a very small club show, most people there were riders, trainers or reasonably knowledgeable family members, but this one idiot tried to step in front of him to stop him.

      He didn’t stop.

      She ended up in hospital with concussion, several broken ribs, broken collarbone and internal injuries. I’m told she lived, but I never saw her at a show again. She could VERY easily have died.

      I saw that, and the dang animal was still running right into the trailer park…I was standing FLATTENED against the horsebox until he stopped about fifteen feet away…and as soon as I realized he was calm, I went over and realized there was no bridle on his head (the cheekpieces had broken) and he had a cut over his left eye that was bleeding quite profusely into the eye…small wonder he panicked. I just put my arm around his head and kept him there until somebody came over with a halter (mine was on my horse). He was fine at that point…he’d come out of it.

      A horse that is bolting or panicking is not capable of realizing what is going on around it until they snap out of it. Their instinct is to run towards the familiar (their trailer was next to ours), and that is all they have…instinct. The ONLY time I would get in the way of a horse in that situation is if I was on another horse…that was considerably bigger than the runaway. Sometimes that will stop them.

      In this case, there was only one gate out of the grounds and it was closed as soon as the PA guy said there was a loose horse.

      Just let them run it out. It’s the only safe thing to do.

  15. This sounds sexist, but all of those idiots were MEN.

    As a rescue, we get calls entailing the ownership of a ‘crazy’ horse, and it is usually just a frightened, defensive horse that has been bullied and yahoo’ed by a guy. Sometimes their minds are permanently blown.

    If you want obedience and are into hierarchal relationships, get a dog. If you want a partnership with a horse, you’re gonna have to grow up. Or get run over, which might not be a bad thing.

    • Just a heads up – dog relationships are not based on a hierarchy as most people understand it. A dog is NOT a wolf (is man a chimpanzee?) – and the original studies on wolf behaviour were on captive packs. A collection of unrelated individuals shoved together in a small enclosure. The amount of tension observed is unnatural.

      In reality submissive behaviour is something which is offered – not demanded by other individuals! Overt aggression is the sign of an unstable individual. To all of you who think you have to eat before your dog, go through doorways first and never let them win a tug of war then don’t bother. Your dog will just think you are an idiot 😛

      Luckily dogs suffer fools. Or not so luckily for them – guess they have had to learn – living with the human race 😛

  16. The first time I saw this I had two thoughts. The first was, why do they keep chasing a terrified horse? The second was, maybe some of those horses needed a turnout before their class.
    There was NO excuse for the domino effect, the other horses were holding it together and probably would have been fine if the first runaway had been allowed to just run it out on his own without all the chasing.

  17. I think it was a nest of wasps that had initially started
    this. Saw this before somewhere and someone said that the cause was bees nesting in the wall of the arena. Something aggrivated them (dirt flying up and hitting the wall? A tail swish striking the wall? A small rub by a too-close cart wheel?)and the swarm attacked. So just trying to “calm the horse” from the driver’s seat would have pretty much been impossible if the horse is being stung. My own “bombproof” gelding went totally berzerk and went into a bucking frenzy on a trail ride and threw my son (then 10 years old and an experienced enough rider to be on my dependable gelding…yes he had a helmet on) when he accidently stepped on a ground hornet’s nest. After it was over, everyone was astounded to have seen my lethargic, kid-proof babysitter horse turn into a ramaging bronc and actually throw a child. All’s I could say was I’m glad it was my own kid and that I don’t blame my horse one bit since he was being attacked by bees! Some said they’d “never trust a horse that bucks off a child again” but why blame the horse or the child? Sorry, got OT. LOL!

  18. Well. If we look through the video carefully there are several points of idiotic behaviour which meant it escalated. Especially if we remember they were dealing with a scared, runaway horse who also happened to have blinkers on and a trap attached which can catch on the walls. First off – when the horse started humping the guy driving it pulled back and down on the reins – this pulled them down onto its hindquarters which I don’t think helped matters. This might be just me but I think any driving horse needs to be thoroughly desensitised to reins on its back before being let out in public. But, hey, maybe it was fine at home – we’ve all seen the split personality horse!

    Those guys attempting to push the horse into the wall again made an error. This could work to turn a running horse who could actually see you and was even open to the actions of puny humans. For a horse which cannot see to the sides this is just asking for it to hit the wall and overturn the cart. Oh look. What happened there – hands up who saw that coming?

    Then the guy who does manage grab the rein causes it to crash into the second horse but pulling its head so it really cannot see ahead. Luckily this second horse is sensible and caught fairly quickly. Then man gets wiped out. That’s what happens when a horse runs you over Mr Wannabe Iron Man.

    The guy who was holding the disabled lady’s horse. Should have got someone in there sooner to remove her. Also the priority was to hold onto her horse. Not drop it and grab the other one so the one you were originally responsible for can remove its bridle and start a fresh run. But hey, not sure I would have kept hold of that one either. But no one should that lady still have been in the carriage! Or should have been more than one of you to protect her.

    Third horse running – no reason it should have been allowed to get so far into the middle – it can see fine. Oh look, one of you has a rope – perhaps this should have been brought out earlier. Clever boy.

    At least this is an advert for why good quality leather harness and tack is essential. If those carts hadn’t come off as soon as they did it would have been much worse.

    And I agree with other people. Those horses need a good period of turnout and some de-stress time. They look rather wired to me but I guess that is because I am not used to these types of horses!

    Surely a show should have a policy with regards to what action will be taken if there is a loose horse and everyone should know what it is . . . .

    • Why should they have brought the rope out earlier? I don’t even want to imagine how much worse things would have gotten if they tried to lasso one of the horses.

      • The second one who had nothing on its head – he nearly got hold of it – in the situation not the worst thing that could have happened. First one – very bad idea.

  19. Sort of Anonymous

    One of the sad things that happens when these accidents involve harnessed horses is that it seems almost inevitable that they run into the others. They look for the security of the herd, and due to the blinkers typically end up running straight into them.

    If you notice, the drafts did the same thing. The difference was 1) the various headers were in position already and kept their teams calm (that’s bravery, heading 4000lbs of horse flesh), 2) the announcer improved the situation with her calm direction to the crowd, and 3) the horses only had themselves and harness, no carts. If that draft team had been pulling a cart and then run into the others (also with carts), it would have been pretty ugly I imagine.

    I had seen both these videos before, and wanted to cry for the last runaway that was being calm, gets knocked down, then gallops unblinkered until he goes down again. The drafts one is an impressive show of what TO do in that type of situation… but very different equipment and temperaments than fine harness type breeds.

  20. Sort of Anonymous

    Other people’s reactions on this one? I would NOT be happy with the guy that stopped the horses. It’s the risk of injury by running into something vesus having your jaw broken??

    Another point on the first video, headers truly stand dead in front of the harness horse, due to the blinkers. So people stepping in front of them to stop them isn’t quite as strange as it seems to riders… as in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4uhID7H8THc&feature=fvwrel Loose horses due to harness failure, and main team having some rein issues due to front horses getting loose.

  21. Already commented on the harness class insanity, but I went back and watched the draft horses. Handled as well as possible under the circumstances. Getting the crowd to quit screaming was great. The handlers all did a good job. There were a few seconds when several teams left the wall and there was the potential of a large herd of loose drafts, but they listened to their handlers and stood very quickly.
    I have t wonder how many of those people have little flashbacks of that day when they are all lined up in another crowded arena.

  22. Having been at one driving accident as the one here, I can tell you it all goes down very fast. Not knowing where the loose horse and cart will be next, is very scary, as no where is safe to be, esp. if you are with your own horse and can’t leave it. It can be on you in a flash and you have no where to go. At the show I was at, all the other drivers went to the center, leaving the loose horse to run laps around the rail…UNTIL…someone wanting to play hero leaped out of the stands, jumped in front of the horse waving his arms. The horse did a 90 degree turn INTO ALL THE HORSES AND CARTS STANDIND IN THE CENTER O THE RING..where they were supposed to be the safest! We did have a bit of humor..as someone in the stands called the ambulance to report there’d been a “driving accident” at the fairgrounds. When the amublance arrived, they could find no car accidents anywhere and nearly left. In the end, everyone lived. The judges scaled the fence in a singe bound to save themselves and only the carts and harnesses suffered the worst of it. But they still talk about it to this day. Having seen this accident is the #1 reason I now drive MINIS!!!!!!

  23. I always wanted to learn to drive…and actually have a mare trained to do so….but not after watching all this!

    • PLEASE PLEASE don’t let this turn you away from driving! Driving is very pleasurable and rewarding for both you and your horse if done properly. There are ALWAYS “horror stories” out there about every sport known to man. You drive a car? There are statisticly more auto wrecks than driving a horse. Seeing the local news at 6 pm can show you that. Is seeing that going to stop you from driving a car? I doubt it. Same with plane wrecks. There are usually several major ones a year and many minor ones that don’t even make the news. Is that going to deferr you from flying now? How about the injuries athlete’s obtain while playing their favorite sport? While some are very horrible or even deadly, it doesn’t stop folks from still enjoying what they love. I live on Oahu in Hawaii. There are at least no less than 3 shark attacks on surfers and swimmers in the island chain per year. It doesn’t stop folks from still enjoying the beach and water. Watching a horrible wreck at a horseshow shouldn’t change your mind about driving your already trained horse, it should help you to learn from it and encourage you to be more safety conscience while enjoying your time driving your horse.

  24. This horsewreck was featured on Animal Planet:

    I guess some people had broken bones, but no one was critically injured.

    I wish they would have noted what happened to the horses (other than that they weren’t injured).

  25. I’ve seen this before and it never fails to entertain. Really, what would you expect from the Arabian horse world’s genius handlers and brilliant intelligent horses. As to the latter, for centuries Arab horses did have that reputation – that is until Jean LaCroix and the Boggs brothers conbined with their sycophants to turn the breed into a bunch of crack-brained, pencil neck, sitck-legged bundles of nerves and stupidity. Now, an Arab horse is about as useful as a one-wheeld Honda.

    I showed my half-Arab in the early-mid 80’s when it was starting to go downhill, so to see this is, oddly, somehow gratifying.

  26. I’ve seen that before a while back. I read somewhere that the horse getting stung by a bee was what started the whole incident. Either way, talk about horsemanship FAIL here! The people who should have helped control this situation, actually managed to make it worse.

  27. That was simply horrible. All because the original cart driver’s horse appeared unbroke. Make give the horse a little more time? Sure young horses can spook but he was acting rank. The chaos that ensued was idiotic for certain. Horses hitting other horses, carts flying. They needed more people guarding the center so other carts were not hit. Sad.

  28. Does anyone know what happened to the last horse, the one they tripped at the end? I could see that they were keeping him down while they removed the remains of the harness, but once they got a halter on I wasn’t sure if they kept him down to calm him or because he was injured by the fall.

  29. OT but when did Animal Planet become Animals Gone Wild Planet? So many times I want to settle in and watch a show about cat breeds or some shit and they’re running a “people dying from snake bites” marathon.

  30. Kind of O/T but your comment about people being rowdy in the stands made me think of something funny. In my early 20’s some of my non-horsey friends came out to one of my hunter shows. A bunch of rocker partyer types (as was I then-LOL).
    I went in and jumped my 2′ 6″ round, went clear of course (I think they thought that was the point of it-like jumpers) and as I cleared the last fence my friends exploded in cheers and did the wave. I had to laugh, although we got lots of disapproving looks 😉

  31. I’ve seen this video before and found it horrifying since I drive (much more sensible draft ponies and in “real” harness, not light harness, and always alone in the ring).
    My thoughts:

    1. Thank god light harness breaks so easily as that probably spared some equine legs.

    2. Why on earth did anyone not involved in the initial runaway stay in the cart?? Excepting the woman with the disability – and it should have been a priority of the ring crew to get her out asap. and parked in the safety of the judges booth. You cannot stop a horse who wants to run from the box seat. Get out.

    3. Why on earth did the other horses remained hitched? Pull your horse out of the shafts for god’s sake. Then if they get drawn into the melee, at least they aren’t dragging a cart behind them. One less weapon in the ring.

    4. Once horses are out of the the shafts, hold them by their bridle and a rein – oh, I forgot, the light harness bridle is like tooth floss – sacrifice safety for fashion yet again. Ideally, you could handle the horse in the driving bridle. Maybe require a real halter and lead in the spares kit – oh, I forgot, light harness doesn’t bother with a spares kit either.

    4. Have ring crew and stewards practice emergency drills for disasters like this. Drivers, practice the equivalent of an emergency dismount for drivers – train your horse to stand while being unhitched by one person in an emergency. Carry spare halter and lead with chain in your kit so you can get the blinders off your horse asap if you need to. Carry a sharp knife in your pocket at all times when around harnesses. And finally, it may be really pretty to watch a ring full of fired up hot bloods in harness but maybe, just maybe, it’s more sensible to drive one at a time.

    • I agree with a lot you have said here, BUT:
      Do you show your draft pony or just drive around in circles all alone? I have shown both draft horses and miniatures in harness, and attended many other breeds being driven at shows (all over the country) and NEVER were they driven individually in a class around the ring, then let out for the next horse to come in. Unfortunately doing that would be very time consuming and unrealistic at a show that has to keep to a schedule. Yep sometimes the class was crammed and they had to break it into two different go-rounds to be able to fit all the entrants into the class, but never were they let into the class as individuals.
      Next: are you meaning a collar type harness as a “real” harness? I drove our drafts in collar type show harnesses, and our minis in pleasure harnesses. A fine harness isn’t overly too much different from a pleasure harness, just a few things less and finer leather. Depends on what breed you are driving or what type of class you are in. But they are still “real” harnesses too, depending on what they are used for. Are they more frail than a thick collar harness? Of course, but still not “dental floss”.
      When showing, you cannot have “extra” stuff on your cart. A “kit” wouldn’t be allowed unless tour cart has a built in box behind or under the seat where it can be stored. Our draft cart DID NOT have a place for a “kit” nor did my miniature cart. Not all show carts have that and “adding on” can be against the rules. In my easy-entry mini cart, I had a clip on box I could use out on the trail or just for pleasure driving where ever I went (yep even drove down to the store in mild traffic) and I DID carry an extra halter, lead and first-aid kit, but I WAS NOT allowed to keep it on the cart during showing. And the only Meadowbrook cart I was able to use didn’t have one either. So a “kit” to keep emergency halters and ropes in during showing in the arena is not always possible.

  32. Reblogged this on Horse Listening and commented:
    Although technincally “reblogged”, I am pleased to present this guest post by our friends and previous guest poster SnarkyRider. Here they have posted another super-snarky post about a video that you’ve likely already seen roaming the Internet. When I first saw the video some time ago, I also shook my head and did the Snarky trademark “facepalm” at the many and varied errors made during this stomach-churning wreck – but the comments below are written in a way that only the Dressage Empress and Jumper Girl do it. Please visit their blog for varied and endlessly amusing posts about the unwittingly amusing things some people do and say about their horses!

  33. everything that comes to mind is horribly horribly obscene! one moron after another…

  34. Yes a complete train wreck but the worst bit for me(i watched it without sound so can’t comment on that) was when the horse was on the ground heaving for every breath sweating and scared to death, all those people around no compassion shown for the animal no reassuring calmness and light touches. So sad. so very sad.

  35. A couple of notes here, regarding some of the comments.
    1. This was at Arabian Horse Regional Championships. That means that all these horses had been shown enough to earn enough points to be in the championship classes.
    2. These were amateur drivers, though most are quite experienced, some are owners who take a couple of lessons with their trainers, then want to show. However, to make it to regionals, again, you had to have shown enough and finished high enough to earn the points to go to regionals.
    3. Yes, these are Arabians, and though I’ve found the driving horses to be purposely hotter in order to have the look and leg action, all, or even most, are not that way. My Arabian champion halter and hunter mare came straight out of the show ring at the age of ..

    • Sorry, stupid phone gets excited and prematurely posts!
      What I was saying is my Arabian came out of the show ring at for and immediately started trail riding with a 14 year old on board as if she had been doing it her whole life, so they are not “all crazy”!
      4. And lastly, way too many sittting ringside at these shows only own, but don’t actually work with, horses. So tbis is a prime example of what happens when people think they know what they’re doing and try to help. I see it way too often!

Leave a Reply

